Favorite Quotes from “The Little Prince”

on

lilprince1

The Little Prince is one one of my favorite books ever. Saint-Exupery’s way to say such wise, deep, eternal things in the language of a story for kids never stops amazing me, even if I must have read it a 20-ish times now. I was goingh through it again yesterday and I thought I’d write my favorite parts down for you. It beats Monday blues!! 🙂

1- “Grown-ups never understand anything by themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them”

2- (..)”For it is possible for a man to be faithful and lazy at the same time”.

3- Prince “What does tha mean – tame-?”

Fox: “It’s an act too often neglected. It means to establish ties. (..) To me, you are nothing more than a little boy who is just like a thousand of little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. (..) But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world..”

4- To the Earth’s rose “To be sure, an ordinary passer-by would think that my rose looked just like you- the rose that belongs to me. But in herself alone she is more important than all the hundreds of you other roses: because it is she that I have watered; because it is she that I have put under a glass globe; because it is she that I have sheltered behing the screen; because it is for her that I have killed the caterpillars (except the two or three that we saved to become butterflies); because it’s she that I have listened to, when she grumbled,or boasted, or even sometimes when she said nothing. Because she is my rose

Here they are. My favorite part is the one with the fox, but I didn’t want to write all of it here – mostly because I hope I made you curious and you’ll read it too, if you already haven’t – 😉

Ciao guys!!

Giulia

Leave a Reply

